Barrence Whitfield is a full-throttle soul screamer in the spirit of Little Richard, Wilson Pickett, and Solomon Burke. He has been described as the owner of one incredible pair of lungs, with limitless energy and unmatched enthusiasm for his music and his audience. Barrence is a rarity in this business--one of a few black, rock 'n roll singer/entertainers who Spin Magazine says maintains a frenzied performance. The Savages lay down a groovy racket that's so thick and greasy, you'll need to keep moist towelettes near the hi-fi. Barrence and the boys are to soul what the Cramps are to Rockabilly--a gateway musical drug to America's demented roots underbelly. Whitfield is a performer so consumed with satisfying his audiences that he has been called 'crazed, frenetic and completely unhinged.'

After college, Barrence, like many organic music lovers, found himself working in a Kenmore Square record shop called Nuggets. There, he was discovered by guitarist Peter Greenberg, of the legendary Boston bands DMZ and The Lyres. Through this introduction, Barrence got his first taste of the rock 'n roll life and Boston's music scene. Boston reciprocated in kind with 7 Boston Music Awards. The Boston-bred collective will released a new album on Bloodshot in summer of 2013 entitled Dig Thy Savage Soul (CD/LP/Digital). The band is continually touring worldwide.

Full Bio

Official Website: Barrence Whitfield and the Savages Online

Contacts

Press
Company: 
Bloodshot Records
Contact Name: 
Josh Zanger
josh@bloodshotrecords.com
UK Press
Company: 
Sonic PR
Contact Name: 
Rob Kurford
rob@sonicpr.co.uk
Radio
Company: 
Bloodshot Records
Contact Name: 
Mike Sosin
sosin@bloodshotrecords.com
New Media
Company: 
Bloodshot Records
Contact Name: 
Mike Smith
mike@bloodshotrecords.com
Management
Company: 
N/A
Contact Name: 
Peter Greenberg
pgreenberg5555@gmail.com
Booking
Company: 
Leafy Green Booking
Contact Name: 
Todd Cote
todd@leafygreen.com
European Booking
Company: 
Jostone Traffic
Contact Name: 
Jean Luc
jostone@wanadoo.fr
UK Booking
Company: 
Punk Rock Blues
Contact Name: 
Rupert Orton
rupertorton@gmail.com