| BS 150

You Are All My People

A genre-bending collaboration between the renowned novelist Jonathan Lethem ("Motherless Brooklyn," "Fortress of Solitude") and songwriter Walter Salas-Humara of the Silos. The result always cuts against simple interpretation, pushing all the charm toward menace, and the sorrow toward ecstasy.

Full Description

I'm Not Jim is a genre-bending collaboration between the renowned novelist Jonathan Lethem ("Motherless Brooklyn," "Fortress of Solitude") and the great American songwriter Walter Salas-Humara of the Silos. The two were mutual admirers and met in a bar in New Orleans and thought of a way to combine their artistry.

So what exactly do these songs sound like? Lethem and Humara’s songwriting takes the ordinary pop, folk, or blues song and makes it the occasion for what you might call ‘serious play’ – every lyric is grounded in emotion, but emotion twisted by language and wit into something recognizeable but new.

The melodies that spring from Walter’s voice fitting itself to these unexpected syllables push the strength and warmth of his Silos work to a new range, sometimes featuring a Dylanesque self-consciousness or humor, sometimes a Nick Drake introspection. And when the skewed brilliance of the songs meets the paisley-pop-electronic-remix chops of Maxwell and Hernandez – the Elegant Too – the result always cuts against simple interpretation, pushing all the charm toward menace, and the sorrow toward ecstasy.


Mr October
Amanda Morning
Drink Til I’m Sober

Short Description
  • I'm Not Jim delivers songs that border on flat-out rock 'n' roll: the bluesy and defiant 'Drink ‘Til I'm Sober'; the punchy, snarling 'Towtruck'; and the Petty-esque sing-along 'Uncomplicated.' 'Elevated Plane,' meanwhile, is further evidence that Salas-Humara's gift for producing grabby melodies with seemingly little effort remains intact more than 20 years into his career.

    — Blurt
  • Some] songs have a gleaming hard edge...and elsewhere they've created crisp little pop tunes with choruses that sound like forgotten hits from decades old rock radio stations.

    — Ken Tucker--Fresh Air/NPR Radio
  • You Are All My People floats through a woozy middle ground between The Mountain Goats' storytelling economy and art-pop's habit of letting convention loose with the wind

  • The songwriting reveals a collective mind steeped in rock 'n' roll verities. 'Uncomplicated' feels like an emergency water-landing engineered by a party of drunks. And the brilliant 'Elevated Plane' gets I'm Not Jim up above the fray, where they don't belong, celebrating the same old indecision with an assurance that real life seldom demonstrates.

    — Village Voice

Track List

  • 1. Mr. October
  • 2. Towtruck
  • 3. After Mild Winter
  • 4. Howard
  • 5. Amanda Morning
  • 6. Drink 'Til I'm Sober
  • 7. The Pitchers Gave Up
  • 8. Walks Into
  • 9. Uncomplicated
  • 10. Elevated Plane
  • 11. Lonely Gains
  • 12. Missing Persons
  • 13. Meter Running in a Crashed Cab
  • 14. Hoping For A Comeback



You May Also Dig…