| BS 194
Digital Only

Working Girl's Guitar

The Rockabilly Filly, the versatile virtuoso on the working girl’s guitar, strips it down to the lean meat of her playing, singing, and songwriting on her 11th album.

Like the woman herself, Working Girl’s Guitar crackles with a loose, straightforward energy fit to be played everywhere from palaces to bars.

Full Description

When Rosie sold a vintage guitar to a fellow Austin TX musician, he dubbed the beat up beauty a real “working girl’s guitar.” The next day he called with what would be the title track to this album, but, as he told Rosie, “I didn’t write it, the guitar did.” It’s a poetically apt story to sum up the transcendental spirit and music of a road survivor like Rosie Flores.

Rosie Flores, the Rockabilly Filly, the versatile virtuoso on the working girl’s guitar, strips it down to the lean meat of her playing, singing, and songwriting on her 11th album, and, for the first time, Rosie handles all production duties and covers all the guitar bases.  Right out of the gate, Rosie fires up her big-chord guns—because, at its heart, any Rosie record is a guitar record—for songs that tell some hard-learned tales. Resonating with miles of grit, grace and determination, the anthemic title track gallops out of the sunrise, and the Texas blues rave-up “Little But I’m Loud,” throws some serious devil longhorns. The instrumental “Surf Demon #5” rides some slinky West Texas waves, and the chunky guitar on the King’s classic “Too Much” is a muscular contrast to her sly come-hither purrs. And don’t overlook Rosie in full-on rockabilly rumble mode with the Janis Martin cover of “Drugstore Rock and Roll.”

But there’s more than just six-string heroics on Working Girl’s Guitar. “Yeah, Yeah,” a gorgeous tribute to a fellow road dog, the late Duane Jarvis, channels some languid, longing Beatles-inflected pop. Adding to the light that glows through the sadness is pedalsteel player Greg Leisz, the prolific West Coast multi-instrumentalist who has appeared on recordings by A-listers such as Dave Alvin, Wilco, Sheryl Crow, Robert Plant, and Bon Iver.

The elegantly cool “Love Must Have Passed Me By” is an old school countrypolitan duet with the pop music legend Bobby Vee (“The Night Has a Thousand Eyes,” “Take Good Care of My Baby”). “If” is straight up soulful street corner doo-wop and the re-imagining of “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” adds some Django Reinhardt here and some shuffle there, imbuing it with an elegiac tenderness reminiscent of the Everly Brothers.

Like the woman herself, Working Girl’s Guitar crackles with a loose, straightforward energy fit to be played everywhere from palaces to bars.

Short Description
  • With each song achieving its own level of greatness starting at great and peaking at fantastic, the moods and textures vary sometimes greatly from song to song, but the base element of guitar virtuosity keeps the entire ensemble moving at a real fun pace, most notably with “Surf Demon #5”, a song right out of the Dick Dale canon that would also make a spooky addition to any Halloween playlist.

    — Cool Album of the Day
  • Working Girl’s Guitar” is perhaps the perfect title for a new single/album from the boppin’ singer/guitarist Rosie Flores, who shows that girls can rock with an axe as good as the boys… The title tune may as well be Flores’ bio as she tells the story of her life from the vantage point of her guitar.

    — Pop Matters
  • In Working Girl’s Guitar, though, she demonstrates her versatility as a musician and songwriter. The album floats from rockabilly to surf rock to bluesy love ballad and back, all while achieving a cohesiveness that would be difficult even in a less-ambitious album.

    — Oxford American
  • Raucous and rebellious collection of songs… Rosie slays all comers and proves why she remains one of the most entertaining, energetic, and influential female guitar players around today.

    — Saving Country Music
  • Flores picks up a storm all over Working Girl's Guitar, and though she's tasteful enough not to let her solos get in the way of her songs, when she feels like tearing up the fretboard, her chops are just as impressive as her melodic smarts, and she can strut her stuff on tunes that lean toward country, rock & roll, surf, vintage R&B or rockabilly ("Too Much") and sound equally at home and fully in command.

  • Flores is a mighty fine singer; at times she channels Liz Phair and the Breeders’ Kim Deal as much as Wanda Jackson and Loretta Lynn. The real star of the show is her sizzling guitar prowess…the perfect album to keep you shaking, rattling and rolling all winter long.

    — Popdose
  • This one is a must-have for all fans of rockabilly and anyone who has ever enjoyed any of the greats like Wanda Jackson, Patsy Cline, Skeeter Davis, or Brenda Lee.

    — Blog Critics
  • The whole album is a succinct summation of Flores's long and winding road as one of Americana's most underrated artists.

    — Boston Globe

Track List

  • 1. Working Girl's Guitar
  • 2. Little But I'm Loud
  • 3. Yeah Yeah
  • 4. Surf Demon #5
  • 5. Drugstore Rock and Roll
  • 6. Love Must Have Passed Me By
  • 7. Too Much
  • 8. If (I Could Be With You)
  • 9. While My Guitar Gently Weeps


You May Also Dig…