| BS 180


Limited Edition LP SOLD OUT


Sundowner unapologetically wears the love of the good times on its greasy flannel sleeve. It’s hard to keep the speed steady when you’re pounding along to this album with your boot on the accelerator.

Full Description

On Sundowner, Eddie’s third solo album and first for his longtime fans at Bloodshot, he unapologetically wears the love of the good times on its greasy flannel sleeve.

 The broad mix of source material shows that, in the right hands, C&W cats like Dave Dudley (the snarling “Cowboy Boots”) and Johnny Cash (“What Do I Care”) can obviously nestle up comfortably next to punk rock snots like the Dwarves (“Everybody’s Girl”), or that Rig Rock legend Del Reeves (“Girl On the Billboard”) and Touch & Go Records cult faves the Lee Harvey Oswald Band (“Jesus Never Lived On Mars”) share a surprising commonality.

Eddie takes‘em all wherever they come from, strips ‘em down and builds ‘em back up around meat-and-potatoes arrangements, some devil-horn throwing elan and a warmly ragged voice befitting his Southwestern roots. And who better to take on Dean Martin’s self-styled lounge lizard paean “Party Dolls and Wine”? No one we can think of. Sundowner also has songs by a couple of friends that Eddie has recorded with over the years: Willie Nelson (the after hours croon “Always On My Mind”) and Steve Earle (the chiming “If You Fall in Love”), ‘cuz, as he says, it was “fun to put a little ‘Spaghetti’ on them.”

On Sundowner’s originals, Eddie, almost bashfully, lets some pop smarts shine through, without sacrificing any of the muscle. Check the Velcro-in-your-head harmonies on the title track or the dusty cantina vibe of “Marie.” The opening track, “Never Thought I Would,” positively soars with big hooks, the rush of the big sky and the open road. It’s gonna be hard to keep the speed steady when you’re pounding along to the song with your boot on the accelerator.

Never Thought I Would
Party Dolls And Wine
Girl On the Billboard
Cowboy Boots

Short Description
  • This has the feel of being at a barbecue when, out of the blue, the big, burly, loud, obnoxious guy comes over and starts wailing on a guitar and surprises the hell out of everybody by actually being able to sing, and doing it his own damn way to boot. It’s a great feeling.

    — Atlanta Music Guide
  • A twelve-track party album full of beer drinking sing-along songs.

  • Filled with equal measures of the humor, sincerity, and respect for the music which inspires him, and what we all love about rock and country, and the places where they intersect.

    — Uprooted Music
  • Worthy of the ’suckers frontman’s legacy.

    — San Antonio Current
  • An edgy, kickback rock 'n' roll classic country fusion.


Track List

  • 1. Never Thought I Would
  • 2. Party Dolls and Wine
  • 3. Girl on the Billboard
  • 4. If You Fall in Love
  • 5. Everybody's Girl
  • 6. What Do I Care?
  • 7. Sundowner
  • 8. Always On My Mind
  • 9. Jesus Never Lived on Mars
  • 10. Cowboy Boots
  • 11. Marie
  • 12. When Do I Go?


You May Also Dig…