Playlist.  Listen.


01 Intro
02 Hello Future Tinglies
03 Instrumental 2
04 Thunder Junkie
05 Instrumental 8
06 Acid Man
07 Instrumental 3
08 Instrumental 7
09 Instrumental 10
10 Stupid
11 Instrumental 5
12 Moon Syrup
13 Instrumental 1

Jason Molina's (Songs: Ohia, Magnolia Electric Co.) high school band.

The 1991 recording is being issued on cassette (limited pressing of 300) – an effort to stay true to the times. Spineriders drummer Carl Raponi produced a limited run of Jason Molina screen-prints for the occasion and Todd created an online memorial at With the approval of the Molina family, all proceeds will go to the Musicians Emergency Medical Association. We hope you enjoy this artifact.

"...even the ambling instrumentals exude a raw, ragged energy." ---SPIN

Misra Records SPINERIDERS --- "Hello Future Tinglies" CS

MSR 070 2013 $9.95
DigitalAmazon - SALE!iTunes



In the late ’80s and early ’90s, Jason Molina, who passed away in the spring of 2013 at the WAY too young age of 39,  played bass and sang backup vocals in the Spineriders — a Lorain, Ohio punk band attending nearby Admiral King High School. Our aim in unearthing Hello Future Tinglies is to provide an invaluable window into the life, circumstances and experiences of a young Northeast Ohio native whose extraordinary gift would grow, take form and awaken the world in innumerable ways.

Great artists rarely uncover their muse overnight. Inevitably, it is the summation of their life experience. Before Jason Molina was known as a beautiful, heart-wrenching songwriter, he was an angst-ridden teenage bass player. The Spineriders provide the context within which one of independent music’s most beloved artists was born.

The official release of this material is born out of a friendship between Todd Jacops (founding Spineriders and Songs: Ohia member) and Leo DeLuca (Misra Records manager) – both Ohio natives. Todd played on the debut “Nor Cease Thou Never Now” 7” (Palace Records), the “One Pronunciation of Glory” 7” (Secretly Canadian’s second release), Songs: Ohia (debut LP), and Hecla & Griper. After Jason passed away, and the original Spineriders were consulted, the two decided to excavate Hello Future Tinglies.

Read THIS remembrance of the band and Jason by his old friend Reilly Lambert



Unfortunately, there are no events scheduled for this artist.