Barrence Whitfield and the Savages Soul Flowers of Titan
| BS 258 CD

Soul Flowers of Titan

Deluxe LP is limited edition transparent clear vinyl; LP includes digital download

It’s a wild, electric phantasmagoria of blues, rock, garage, and soul; it blasts off into diverse orbits only to come back together into a singular Savage cosmology.

Full Description

From a far out moon beyond the rings of Saturn to a dingy studio in Cincinnati, Barrence Whitfield and the Savages’ new platter embraces a cosmic and groovy unification, it blasts off into diverse orbits only to come back together into a singular Savage cosmology. Soul Flowers of Titan is about people shooting guns, separating, coming home (someday), falling in love, running around, leaving this earth, going crazy, drinking coffee, and thinking about Sun Ra.

Titan is the largest moon of Saturn, a planet which astrologically symbolizes pain and struggle. Cincinnati, where the album was recorded (at Ultra Suede Studio), is home to many classic and unknown independent labels, like King and Federal, that fostered a frayed and raucous sound in the 1950s and ‘60s. With such history at their fingertips, the Savages could not resist the urge to celebrate and elaborate on this legacy, to go places high and low, faraway and downhome.

Longtime followers of the Savage Sound will notice right away a heavier sound, a blast of B3 and Rheem organs (courtesy of newest Savage Brian Olive) and a live-in-the-room urgency. It’s a multi-faceted vehicle for a top-notch band wigging out with beefy, staccato blues scales, punk and garage riffs, fronted by a first-order shouter well-heeled in the aesthetics of soul, R&B, and rockabilly.

Barrence’s deep, gravelly rumble anchors muscular struts into madness, out the door and off to Mars. “Slowly Losing My Mind” and “I’m Gonna Leave You Baby” are by Federal alum Willie Wright and his Sparklers, while “Let’s Go To Mars” is an original by Savages guitarist Peter Greenberg and bassist Phil Lenker, written after multiple viewings of an early ‘70s documentary on Sun Ra. Also from the Federal canon is the Midnighters’ “I’ll Be Coming Home Someday,” done here with a somewhat menacing dark street corner doo-wop vibe. “I Can’t Get No Ride,” originally by Finley Brown on the M.O.C. label, will inspire you to Frug off towards a fantastical horizon. And try NOT to flip when the original raunchy rockabilly shuffle “Tall, Black and Bitter” hits the speakers. It’s an album that will take you everywhere and, in doing so, will bring you right back to the center.

Soul Flowers of Titan is Barrence Whitfield and the Savages’ third LP for Bloodshot Records and fourth since reforming in 2010 after a 25-year hiatus. BW&S shot out of Boston in the mid-’80s with the force of a rocket ship. Through their sweaty dance party shows and love of primal soul, they were to R&B what the Cramps were to rockabilly—a gateway musical drug for nascent underground roots mavens. Along with original Savage Peter Greenberg (The Lyres, DMZ) and Phil Lenker, they released several records on Rounder Records, became a favorite of BBC DJ Andy Kershaw, and won seven Boston Music Awards. After they reunited in the 21st century, adding Andy Jody on drums and Tom Quartulli on sax, they released Savage Kings on Shake It Records and Dig Thy Savage Soul and Under the Savage Sky on Bloodshot.

Short Description
  • Whitfield has a voice as big as Texas, a true soul shouter who convinces with every word, and he's a thrilling frontman for this crack band that can just burn down a stage with their playing. That kinetic energy and force is miraculously captured on Soul Flowers of Titan.

    — PopMatters
  • It’s their best by a long way, and one of the finest, purest rock n soul records you will ever hear.

    — Maximum Volume Music
  • The album is of the highest order with songs that make you want to rip off your clothes and go screeching across the dance-floor. It’s music you would expect to hear in low down dirty dives, in the area of town your mother told you to stay away from.

    — Louder Than War
  • This is music that shakes and excites, that throws the listener about and leaves them drained – but in a good way. Unashamedly excellent throughout.

    — Americana UK
  • That mystical marriage of funk, soul, blues, and roadhouse rock ‘n roll coming from Barrence Whitfield and the Savages is exactly what you need right now...Somewhere out there, R.L. Burnside and Howlin’ Wolf are both smiling in appreciation.

    — The Revue
  • Whitfield brings rock and roll and way back to it's origins in the 1950's. It's a reckless, filthy sound that is just about perfect. There's also a touch of a punk menace in there, but there was plenty of menace in 1950's rock and roll, too.

    — If It's Too Loud

Track List

  1. Slowly Losing My Mind
  2. Pain
  3. Tall Black and Bitter
  4. Tingling
  5. Sunshine Don’t Make the Sun
  6. I’ll Be Home Someday
  7. Let’s Go to Mars
  8. Adorable
  9. I Can’t Get No Ride
  10. I’m Gonna Leave You Baby
  11. Edie Please
  12. Say What You Want


You May Also Dig…