| BS 166

Somewhere Gone


Possessing the eye and heart of a poet, Exene subverts lyrical expectations to create an atmosphere of both strain and empathy, speaking to the romantic in all of us.

Somewhere GoneExene’s first solo album since 1991

Full Description

Somewhere GoneExene’s first solo album since 1991

Possessing the eye and heart of a poet, Exene subverts lyrical expectations to create an atmosphere of both strain and empathy, speaking to the isolated and forsaken romantic in all of us. Hers is a world of the natural and the elemental intermingling with our lives and loves. The gravityless drone of “Surface of the Sun” or swimming in the wind to escape the hurricanes of “Somewhere Gone” paint our struggles in an ethereal light. 

Throughout, lines such as Be still my beating bat wings (“Where Do We Go From Here”), I’m trying to make an honest mistake/out of you (“Honest Mistake”) or You can have what’s left of my forever (“Fine Familiar”) cast a murky light on the sentimental. Simple poetic juxtapositions heighten the dislocation that haunt us. Glass full of empty (“Sound of Coming Down”), Blackness and limelight (“Somewhere Gone”) as well as the album title itself speak to this tension.

Sonically, Somewhere Gonewhich was produced by Exene, is a sometimes sparse, sometimes exuberant blend of folk, deep country and wide-open spaces. Exene’s guitar playing (she plays on most of the songs) and the somber cello/viola of the late Amy Farris (Dave Alvin’s Guilty Women, Alejandro Escovedo, Kelly Willis) give the title track a sense of urgency, while the far-out west reverb and back pew organ of “Sound of Coming Down” are as liberating as a freefall.  Also lending ample their handiwork is Joe Terry (Skeletons, Morells) on barrelhouse piano, Lou Whitney (Skeletons) on bass, Dex Romweber (Dex Romweber Duo, Flat Duo Jets) on keyboards, Cindy Wasserman (Dead Rock West) and Jason Edge on guitar.


Trojan Horse
Surface of the Sun
Willow Tree


Short Description
  • These are eerie folk songs—Exene's voice has that timeless, rural, conversational quality—although all but one song are originals. It's tempting to read intimations of morality into the record. But it's more a welcomed return than a valedictory.

    — Blurt
  • These original songs are haunting and gorgeous at the same time. She has clearly done some heavy living, but there is a closeness of spirit that reminds us of the fragility of the heart inside everyone.  Inside us all is the knowledge that our time here is limited. Exene offers her hand to make that time more complete, and the way she shares both her joy and despair allows us the feeling we need to enjoy the journey.

    — Sonic Boomers
  • This is simply superb work.

    — Exclaim
  • Spare and stripped-back, the album touches on gyspy-folk, coffeehouse twang and roots-rock. Each individual instrument — saloon piano, acoustic guitar, feathery percussion, ominous cellos — takes time in the spotlight, making Gone a delicate, graceful collection of songs.

    — Riverfront Times
  • Cervenka may be strumming sweet, unassuming melodies on an acoustic guitar, but even in a polar-opposite genre, her flinty, honest voice shoots into your head with cold truth, bitterness, and a touch of playful sarcasm.

    — BUST Magazine

Track List

  • 1. Trojan Horse
  • 2. Surface of the Sun
  • 3. Somewhere Gone
  • 4. Where do we go from here
  • 5. Why is it so?
  • 6. Insane Thing
  • 7. The Willow Tree
  • 8. Let go and be sweet
  • 9. Walk me across the night
  • 10. Sound of coming down
  • 11. Fevered paper
  • 12. Fine familiar
  • 13. Honest mistake
  • 14. Pinpoints


You May Also Dig…