Playlist.  Listen.


  1. Arkansas Traveler [Instrumental]
  2. Out Where The West Wind Blows
  3. Way Out West is Calling
  4. The Girl I Left Behind Me
  5. Headin' for the Open Range
  6. Mexicali Rose
  7. Riding Down to Mexico [MP3]
  8. My Dear Old Arizona Home
  9. I'll Never Change
  10. A Cowboy's Story
  11. Gonna Marry Me A Cowboy
  12. Raggin' On [Instrumental]
  13. Tyin' Knots in the Devil's Tail
  14. Bad Brahma Bull
  15. Little Puncher
  16. Dreamy Montana Moon
  17. Rocky Mountain Home
  18. Dude Ranch Polka
  19. A Human Coyote Stole My Girl
  20. Memories of the Range
  21. Riding On Across the Prairie
  22. I Won't Need My Six Gun in Heaven

Bloodshot Revival Rex Allen: Last of the Great Singing Cowboys

BS 801 1999
DigitalAmazon - SALE!iTunes

Also available on cassette for only $2.00 here or as part of the Cassette Bargain 3 Pack here.

The 22 songs on this collection were recorded when Rex Allen was a regular on Chicago's WLS Barn Dance (a radio show that surpassed the Opry in influence well into the 60's) from 1946 to 1949.

On Last of the Great Singing Cowboys, you get an early glimpse into Rex's versatile meldings of both kinds of music--country and western. There are fast-paced instrumental breakdowns, crooning, velvety ballads, smooth trio harmonies, and story songs. The crack backing band, full of accordion, fiddle, guitar, swinging standing up bass, and other sundry sounds, reflect what a hotbed of musical talent Chicago was immediately after World War II.

After refining his voice and songwriting chops in Chicago, Rex went off to Hollywood to follow in the footsteps of Gene Autry and Roy Rogers. So catch the rising star of one of country and western's unsung pioneers.

"Garth Brooks should hang his head in shame. He can't match the vocal prowess of Rex Allen with a mile long yardstick. Listen to these 22 incredible vocal performances demonstrating his bottomless pool of talent and infectious star charisma, and you'll be convinced Allen was a true American icon." —Discoveries

"This stuff is the real deal. This disc is pure feel good music." —Blotter



Unfortunately, there are no events scheduled for this artist.