JC Brooks Neon Jungle
| RKM 2

The Neon Jungle

JC Brooks

Many artists have jumped on board the '60s soul train that JC Brooks helped re-start in the late '00s. The Neon Jungle touches on the soul and nightlife of the '70s and '80s from Marvin Gaye to Prince, but always with JC’s modern lyrical approach.

Full Description

Released on Rock Ridge Music

JC Brooks makes soul-infused, genre-bending music that is energetic and kinetically charged. “It all started out as an effort to merge post-punk and soul, but it’s grown into so much more than that,” says vocalist/lyricist/bandleader JC Brooks. “I feel like we carry that ethos with the genre-mixing blend of soul music we write, and the punk aspect is more about our DIY determination to get out there onstage and engage with our live crowds on a visceral level.”

That grab-the-listener-at-all-costs mashup manifesto has been captured to a T on The Neon Jungle.

The album’s impetus started innocently enough with a core directive: to chronicle the soul of nightlife, an album-length depiction of “one crazy, incredible night out,” as Brooks describes it.  “For me, listening to The Neon Jungle conjures this oddly specific image: it's '87, you're going out on a Friday night and you're ready to lose yourself in the city, anticipating this unbelievable time and surfing the radio and stopping on whatever's gonna keep that tingle flowing through your body.”

The sound of the 11 tracks on The Neon Jungle is the result of a revised six-man Chicago-based lineup that’s now simply named collectively after its fearless leader, and the album very much reflects the full JC Brooks band’s invigorated, all-hands-on-deck approach.

Short Description

Track List

  1. Jungle
  2. Drive
  3. Stumble In The Dark
  4. Edge Of Night
  5. Playing With Fire
  6. O.N.O
  7. Heartbeat
  8. Fade Away
  9. One For Someone
  10. Get Gone
  11. Watch Me