| BS 027

More Miles Than Money: Live 1994-1996

An intensely personal record, and in the live setting, Alejandro lays it all on the line.

Full Description

Recorded from Seattle to Paris (France--not Texas). Unlike most live records, the sound is superlative, and focuses on his Orchestra manifestation (which means you've got stirring cellos bumping elbows with big, meaty guitars).

This album is perfectly suited to sipping whiskey alone while quietly cataloging your life's worth of regrets, shortcomings, and failures. It is an intensely personal record, and in the live setting, he lays it all on the line. Don't get us wrong, though, Alejandro can rock if he needs to--one need look no further than the walloping covers of the Stooges "I Wanna Be Your Dog" or the Stones' "Sway" for proof.

Short Description
  • How many bands would dare perform The Stooges' slop-rock masterpiece "I Wanna Be Your Dog" as a string-annexed chamber-rock sextet? This is beautiful, wonderful stuff.

    — Onion AV Club
  • It's a melancholic, often brutal album of hard truths, grim realities, and broken hearts, with performances suited perfectly for the pain and torment of the lyrics and Escovedo's raw, forthright vocals. Most of the songs here have been stripped to the bone, then re-dressed with orchestral flourishes that are alternately beautiful and harrowing.

    — Miami New Times
  • After listening to the album in its entirety, one comes away with the sense of having listened to a man who would put his life on the line for his art. No matter what he sings about--pain, redemption, or glory--Escovedo conveys a feeling of hard-won optimism and romance.

    — Wall of Sound
  • The first part of the record is like lying naked on the bed at a hotel; "I Wanna Be Your Dog" is the maid opening the door and seeing you there--finally.

    — Austin American-Statesman

Track List

  • 1. Last to Know
  • 2. Slip Away
  • 3. Pissed Off 2AM
  • 4. Sway
  • 5. One More Time
  • 6. She Doesn't Live Here Anymore
  • 7. Broken Bottle
  • 8. I Wanna Be Your Dog
  • 9. She Towers Above
  • 10. Five Hearts Breaking
  • 11. Gravity/Falling Down Again/Street Hassle

You May Also Dig…