Playlist.  Listen.


  1. The Academy
  2. Golden Sparklers
  3. Diamonds
  4. Bedfellows Farewell
  5. Dirty Boots (He Don't)
  6. We Are The Virgin Snow
  7. Discotheque
  8. Infidels
  9. Chapperelles
  10. The Lights From The Disco
  11. Golden Years

"Holopaw splits the difference between Sufjan Stevens and Bright Eyes, cranking out melodic chamber pop that sounds as though it could go off the rails at a moment’s notice."-- Under the Radar

"All the chills you'll feel will finally do you some good." --Pitchfork

Misra Records HOLOPAW --- "Academy Songs, Volume 1" -LP

MSR 067V 2012 $13.95
DigitalAmazon - SALE!iTunes


Holopaw is a long-loved independent rock band from Gainesville, FL.

Academy Songs, Volume I, Holopaw’s Misra Records debut, takes the band to never-treaded levels. Through three records on SUB POP and a collaboration with Modest Mouse’s Isaac Brock (Ugly Casanova), frontman John Orth has honed his gift for lyricism, storytelling, and delivery. Now, backed by a variant possessing uncanny chemistry (complete with identical twin brothers), we’ve been graced with an unparalleled, breathtaking Holopaw album.

Over a ten-song cycle, the close quarters of an all-boys preparatory academy, and the world beyond its “ivied walls,” become the sites of devotion, betrayal, communion (or near-communion), and abject loneliness. The joys and thrills and dangers of both discovery and transgression are detailed. “The rising and falling of their little lives” is illuminated in stunning imagery.

Jeremy Scott drove his Civil Defense Studio down from Brooklyn to record Academy Songs in a St. Augustine beach house. Serendipitously, the physical intimacy of the experience seemed to mirror the boys academy detailed in song. Holopaw lived, worked, cooked, and swam together. Their world consisted of playing music and cutting paths from beach house to beach and back again. Long days recording were celebrated over homemade horchata, fish tacos, and a different flavor of hand-churned ice cream each night (ginger lime and peach brown sugar standing out as favorites). A night swim would commence, followed by recording into the dark and light of morning.

Paw’s Patrick Quinney summarized the experience upon returning: “You know that feeling you have after swimming and getting a lot of sun, where you seem to experience every little thing–food, rest, humor, music–as a kind of deep physical and spiritual luxury? We have been asked by a surprising number of people if the recording got ‘beachy’ out there: in the sense that we made it entirely in an atmosphere of that physical and spiritual luxury, I would have to say that it did. I certainly hope that everything that sounded good or seemed like a great idea at the time will continue to do so after the last of the sand is out of our shoes.



Unfortunately, there are no events scheduled for this artist.