| BS 119

Freedom and Weep

Cuts about dismantling democracy, going for a drink, golfers disguised as national leaders, and meeting the enemy head on with a good, hair-raising, boozy cackle.

Full Description

Down from the hills in their fuel efficient mini-van with "The Waco Brothers Invade Jesusland" scrawled on the side in glitter and fire-red lipstick, Freedom and Weep (get it?) is a decidedly rockin’ addition to their formidable canon (or is that cannon?), a strutting return to form that hits all your g-spots and leaves you panting.  While the twang is mostly turned down in favor of a straight ahead meaty rock chime ("Nothing At All," "How Fast the Time," "Missing Link"), it's never hard to get to, even if the Wacos insist on doing it their way ("Drinkin' & Cheatin' & Death", "Secrets.")

Dismiss their warnings about grotesque cultural and social forces trying to turn us into placid drones devoid of outrage if you want. Cuts about dismantling democracy, going for a drink, golfers disguised as national leaders, appearing stupider than you really are, watching your carbs the night before they strap you to the gurney, election night jitters, and models throwing themselves out of first floor Motel 6 windows.

Nothing At All
How Fast the Time
Drinkin' & Cheatin' & Death
Missing Link

Short Description
  • The always sardonic lyrics are even sharper than usual this time around... but the Wacos have always been about taking a certain masochistic glee in their troubles, with rollicking, alcohol-drenched anthems.

    — Onion AV Club
  • If there's a good share of bitter futility in these songs, there's also a liberating rage, and if this once-great land is at the point of collapse, the Waco Brothers are here to see that the folks who still care go down swinging.

  • One kick ass track after another from a group that's clearly in the midst of its prime. If you've ever entertained the same silly notions about the Wacos irrelevance that I did, give this one a spin and see if they don't change your mind.

    — Splendid
  • The Waco's continuing asset is the sense that they are on a chase, connecting the past with the main street of outlaws and thieves. As cowboys, they are more Butch and Sundance than John Wayne and Gary Cooper: anti-heroes who realize that these days, a white hat does not necessarily mean you're on the right side.

    — Daily Herald
  • An outstanding blend of attitude and execution, Freedom and Weep reflects the Waco Brothers at their very best.

    — Amplifier
  • A rich and smart-alecky amalgam of down home cowpunk and biting lyrical wit that is nearly impossible to believe it exists... easily their best yet. Taken together, the songs assembled on this fine and substantial platter resonate like public service announcements--with pedal steel guitar.

    — Washington Post

Track List

  • 1. Nothing At All
  • 2.Chosen One
  • 3. Come a Long Long Way
  • 4. Secrets
  • 5. How Fast the Time
  • 6. Lincoln Town Car
  • 7. It's Amazing
  • 8. On the Sly
  • 9. Drinkin' & Cheatin' & Death
  • 10. Fantasy
  • 11. Missing Link
  • 12. Rest of the World
  • 13. Join the Club


Also From This Artist

You May Also Dig…