| BS 149

de donde eres

A document of heartache and joy on a scale both universal and intimately personal, displaying an independent multicultural rock outfit at the top of its powers.

Full Description

You can't pick your sorrows. Cordero knows this first-hand. After an unfortunate string of family and friend crises, bandleader Ani Cordero found herself physically and emotionally drained, and grasping for fragments of hope and solace. Finding writing on her mother's nylon string guitar in her native tongue to be far more immediate and personal, the compositions that Ani wrote for De donde Eres are exclusively in Spanish.

While Ani and husband Chris Verene (formerly of The Rock*A*Teens) are best known for their critically acclaimed, tension-laden independent rock, with De donde eres, the band has taken a side-route away from the anxious and angular sounds of En Este Momento or Lamb Lost in the City. De donde eres finds Cordero further exploring the rhythmic intricacies of Latin music while turning down the guitar amps for a much more quiet and inward set of songs. Ani's ever-nimble guitar patterns are threaded around Latin percussion, pulsing bass notes and bright horn lines as the band wrings a both-sides-of-the-border mystery out of gentle melodies that pay tribute to forebears such as Nick Drake, Belle and Sebastian, and Os Mutantes.

Thematically, the record runs the gamut of emotions. While many songs--such as the ruminative "Guardasecretos" - find Cordero exploring the internal experience, album starter "Quique" is an immediate call to the dance floor, shot through with equal servings of melancholy and exuberant hopefulness. "La Yegua" ("The Mare") is a powerful statement of women's independence, staking out a place somewhere between "brave", "wild" and "fierce", while "Ruleta Rusa" ("Russian Roulette") castigates the greed of the profit-driven corporations and governments.

Cordero's music is clearly a product of its creative and cultural diaspora. An indie rock band with Latin roots, Cordero is led by a woman of Puerto Rican descent who calls Brooklyn her home but still finds a kinship with many other places—Tucson, Atlanta, and other points on the map where she has lived or performed. The album title translates as "where are you from?" Indeed, "Where is she from?" has been the primary question from audiences and press alike. Ten years on stage responding to that same question has led the band to answer randomly, sometimes teasingly naming places like Atlanta, which while partly truth, is rarely exotic enough to satisfy the person asking.

Ultimately, De donde eres stands as a battle-scarred—yet uplifting--document of heartache and joy on a scale both universal and intimately personal, displaying an independent multicultural rock outfit at the top of its powers.


La yegua

Short Description
  • The highlight is closer 'La Vida Sencilla,' whose smoky horn line and bubbling rock beat beg a reaction commensurate with the jerk of your knee from a doctor's mallet.

    — Cleveland Scene
  • ...has the irresistible feel of a summer night in the city---imagine all the neighbors on your block sitting on their stoops trading stories, or a street festival where the beer is never flat and the Porta-Johns are never disgusting.

    — Chicago Reader
  • ...more explicitly draws upon both the sounds and the moods of Latin American music, embracing the palpable joy and sorrow of the melodies as well as the sensuous grooves of the rhythms [and] demonstrates just how strong and intuitive a band Cordero have become.

  • Melancholia is no excuse to stop the dance party, and this Brooklyn mainstay band is ready to be there for you when you need it.

    — Pine Magazine
  • Cordero's latest is without question a must-have for fans of starry-eyed Latin rockers from Os Mutantes to Zoé, but equally recommended no matter the listener's primary language. It may be a cliché to say so, but here, the music really does transcend all arbitrary borders.

    — Daily Herald
  • Delivered in packages spiced with horns and beats that make it impossible to sit still. Alternating between contemplative, strident, and festive arrangements, the album and the band are unified by Ani's passionate lyrics and delivery ... a must-have for your music collection.

    — BlogCritics

Track List

  • 1. Quique
  • 2. Guardasecretos
  • 3. La Sombra
  • 4. La Musica Es La Medicina
  • 5. Fin Del Mundo
  • 6. Veneno
  • 7. La Yegua
  • 8. Ruleta Rusa
  • 9. El Arco Iris
  • 10. Abre La Ventana
  • 11. La Vida Sencilla