Playlist.  Listen.


  1. Wasteland
  2. Intertwined w/ Mark Lanegan [MP3]
  3. Summer Romance w/ Rachel Flotard
  4. Vildspor w/ Jon Auer
  5. Falling
  6. The Anchor Song w/Rachel Flotard
  7. Insekt
  8. Coming Home w/ Mark Lanegan
  9. Frost
  10. Playground Stars w/Jon Auer
  11. Finale

LIMITED EDITION LP of 1000 contains digital download version of the album

Maggie Bjorklund Coming Home LP

BS 174 V 2011 $10.49
DigitalAmazon - SALE!FinaiTunes

"Her voice, so rarely heard on her own LP, feels comfortable, sweet, and sure the few times it appears, like her cooing on the title track; so much so one senses she could have carried Coming Home’s chamber folk/country sweetness herself. Her guitar is seeped in the timelessness of the proverbial dusty trail without feeling aged, her easygoing tunes are deeply satisfying, and most of all, her starring pedal playing is so exquisitely, sadly beautiful, your heart dances an icicle waltz. The end product is unspeakably lovely, full of warm personality and graceful quality."- The Big Takeover

"Coming Home is loaded with musical talent and has such a free flowing brilliance to it that you can not do anything but sit back and enjoy the soft ride." --The Fire Note

"Coming Home should be one of those sleeper albums this in 2011. Bjorklund is able to grip you throughout the album and dissect your attention, and while it may not initially feel like you've just been examined. You just have this feeling that Coming Home has left a permanent mark on your psyche." --Sonic Dissonance

"A rich, reverby, pedal-steel tinged landscape that sounds like the Twin Peaks soundtrack dubbed over a psychedelic spaghetti western." —Seattle Weekly

"Despite the shuffle between instrumentals and a handful of different singers, each with distinct musical personalities, these 11 songs cohere into an album where the whole is superior to the many fine parts. Coming Home is an effective collection of late-night numbers that should serve as a calling card for a musician and songwriter with talent, style, and the know-how to make a truly memorable album."

Coming Home is an album that straddles delirium and ecstacy, when the vultures circling overhead look like doves.  Psychedelic desert pop music.  It's the sound of a bead of condensation rolling down a beer glass at a grimy cantina.  It's the sound of the glare off the windshield when you turn the '67 Caddy west.  It's the sound after the gunfight.

Maggie, though being Danish, has nailed the wide open American West with her knockout pedal steel skills and resiliant vocals.

Helping out on her American debut album are Calexico (Joey and John as the rhythm section and Jacob Venezuala on trumpet), and a hefty line up of Seattle veterans including Barrett Martin (drums: Skin Yard, Screaming Trees), Pamelia Kurstin (theremin: David Byrne, Bela Fleck), Johnny Sangster, Barb Hunter (cello: Greg Dulli, Afghan Whigs, Mark Pickerel). The album was produced by Sangster.

And while there are some instrumentals, Maggie vocal guests include Mark Lanegan (Screaming Trees, the Gutter Twins), Jon Auer (Posies, Big Star) and Rachel Flotard (Visqueen).

"[She's] created a near-masterpiece of the genre…the music is unimpeachable. Bjorklund's pedal steel voice - a blend of Bill Elm's processed grandeur, Eric Heywood's rich and elegiac swells, and the Nashville-flavored lines of Paul Niehaus  - is all her own.  It colors the instrumentals like desert blooms, and on the vocal tracks provides supporting accents or additional melody lines, turning soliloquies into soaring duets and duets into richly textured trios." --Blurt



Unfortunately, there are no events scheduled for this artist.


2011 $7.95
2011 $10.49